

SENATE

OAKLAND UNIVERSITY SENATE

Eighth Meeting 13 April 1989 Oakland Center, Gold Room C 3:10 p.m.

AGENDA

Respectfully submitted by Keith R. Kleckner for the Steering Committee.

A. Old Business

1. Motion from the School of Business Administration to approve a new constitution (Mr.

Horwitz; Ms. Theisen)

Item B.I. from the agenda of 9 February 1989.

MOVED that the Senate recommend to the President and the Board approval of the new Constitution of the School of Business Administration.

Second Reading: Debatable, amendable, and eligible for final vote at this meeting.

2. Motion from the Academic Standing and Honors Committee modifying grade information in certain classes (Mr. Dahlgren; Ms. Stamps). Item B.I. from the agenda of 16 March 1989.

MOVED that instructors of 100 and 200-level courses provide to each registered student some indication of his or her academic progress prior to one week before the withdrawal period ends.

Second Reading: Debatable, amendable, and eligible for final vote at this meeting.

B. New Business

1 . Motion from the Steering Committee to staff standing committees of the Senate (Ms. Wilson):

MOVED that the faculty nominated below be confirmed as appointed to committees and terms as specified.

a. Academic and Career Advising Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91)-effective fall 1989

Steven Miller Gary Moore

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Julia Dorminey Ann Pogany (Chair) Sarma Vishnubhotla

b. Academic Computing Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91)-effective fall 1989 James Dow Robert Facko Chris Wagner

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Jack Nachman (chair) Ravi Parameswaran Richard Pettengill

c. Academic Conduct Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) effective fall 1989 William Fish Lawrence Lilliston Subbaiah Perla

NOMINEE to two-year alternate position (1989-91 effective fall 1989 Robert Kleiman

NOMINEE to one-year alternate position (1989-90), replacing Henry DeLorme Barbara Mabee

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Ren-Jyh Gu (alternate) Mary Mittelstaedt Mildred Merz Floyd Willoughby (chair)

d. Academic Policy and Planning Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) effective fall 1989 Melinda Beaudry Robert Stewart Joan Rosen George Gamboa (chair)

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Osa Jackson Robert Payne Robert Tracy (Chair) Tung Weng

e. Academic Standing and Honors Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) effective fall 1989 Carl Osthaus (on leave, winter 1990: to be replaced by Bruce Mann) Darrell Schmidt

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Naim Kheir (chair) Satish Walia Kathleen Moore

f. Admissions and Financial Aid Committee

NOMINEE to new two-year term (1989-91) effective fall 1989 Richard Hofler

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Louis Bragg (chair) Laurie Eisenhower

g. Campus Development and Environment Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) fall effective 1989. William Cramer Jon Froemke

NOMINEE to one-year term (1989-90), replacing Richard Tucker George Gamboa

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Lizabeth Barclay Kevin Grimm

h. General Education Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) effective fall 1989 Alice Horning Anandi Sahu R. Douglas Hunter

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Penny Cass (chair) Leo Gerulaitis Gary Shepherd

i. Research Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) effective fall 1989 Frank Giblin Janet Krompart Jack Tsui Harold Zepelin Graduate Council appointee (to be named)

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90)
Jane Bingham
Mary Karasch
Mary Van Sell (chair)
Miron Stano

Howard Splete (Graduate Council appointee)

j. Teaching and Learning Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1989-91) effective fall 1989 Al Baartmans Howard Schwartz (chair) Dyanne Tracy

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90) Wallis Andersen Anahid Kulwicki Ronald Rapin

k. University Committee on Undergraduate Instruction

NOMINEES to new two year terms (1989-1991) effective fall 1989

Mary Johnson: Nursing D

David Meyer: Human and Educational Services

Sandra Pelfrey: Business Administration

CONTINUING MEMBERS serving final year (1989-90)

Ka Cheok: Engineering and Computer Science

Jerrold Grossman: Arts and Sciences

Linda Hildebrand: Library

Mary Sherman: School of Health Sciences

Note: The Committee on Human Relations, recently constituted by the Senate, goes into the 1989-90 year with its original membership. In keeping with the usual practice of such committees, membership terms are to be staggered. The committee has now decided on the terms of office reported below:

One-year terms (winter 1989 to August 15 1990) Karl Gregory Vincent Khapoya

Brian Murphy

Two-year terms (winter 1989 to 1991) Jane Bingham Indra David David Herman

Three-year terms (winter 1989 to 1992) Wilma Garcia Monifa Jumanne John Tower

C. Good and Welfare

Private Resolutions

- D. Information Items.
 - 1. Budget Report I
 - 2. Campus Voice.

