



Oakland University Senate

Ninth Meeting May 2, 2002

Oakland Center Oakland room 310 p. m.

Agenda

Respectfully submitted by Virinder Moudgil for the Steering committee.

- A. Information Items
- B. <u>Roll Call</u>
- C. Old Business

1. Motion from the Steering Committee to endorse the Oakland University Profile 2010 (Ms. Schott-Baer, Mr. Downing))

MOVED that the Senate endorse the Oakland University Profile 2010.

Second reading: Debatable, amendable and eligible for final vote.

Comment: The Senate Planning and Review Committee has been asked to consider and possibly revise the Profile 2010 document. For a summary of amendments, please refer to the preliminary draft of minutes distributed by Linda Hildebrand by email on April 18, 2002.

1A. Substitute motion:

MOVED that the Senate endorse the Oakland University Profile 2010 as presented to it this date as amended, and Be it further moved that any revisions to the document be reviewed by the Senate. (Mr. Lipman, Mr. Grossman)

D. <u>New Business</u>

1. Procedural motion from the Steering Committee to staff and appoint chairs to Senate standing committees (Mr. Coppin)

MOVED that the persons listed below be appointed to the committees designated

and that those so designated be appointed as chairs of their respective committees

A. ACADEMIC AND CAREER ADVISING COMMITTEE

Stephen Wright (Department of Mathematics and Statistics) as chair.

B. ACADEMIC CONDUCT COMMITTEE

Kathleen Pfeiffer (Department of English) as co-chair Martha Zingo (Department of Political Science) as co-chair

C. ACADEMIC COMPUTING COMMITTEE

Sherri Oden (School of Education and Human Services) ? 2002 - 2004

D. ACADEMIC STANDING AND HONORS COMMITTEE

Roman Dembinski (Department of Chemistry) as chair

E. ADMISSIONS AND FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE

Mohammad Bazaz (School Business Administration) as chair Maria Spicer-Escalante2002 ? 2004, replacing Susan Hawkins

F. CAMPUS DEVELOPMENT AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

Richard Rozek (School of Health Sciences) as chair

G. GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Robert Stewart (Department of Psychology) as chair

H. RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Mark Severson (Department of Chemistry) as chair

I. SENATE BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE

J. Austin Murphy (School of Business Administration)as chair Tamara Machmut-Jhashi (Department of Art and Art History), 2002 - 2005

J. SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE

Karen Miller (Department of History) as chair

K. SENATE PLANNING REVIEW COMMITTEE

Frances Jackson (School of Nursing) as chair Jude Nixon (Department of English), 2002-2005

L. TEACHING AND LEARNING COMMITTEE

Joyce Wiencek (School of Education and Humans Services) as chair

M. UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON ASSESSMENT

Bo-nan Jiang (Department of Mathematics and Statistics). 2002-2005 Maria Cseh (School of Education and Human Services), 2002-2005

N. UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON UNDERGRADUATE INSTRUCTION Shawn Lombardo (Library) as chair

Procedural motion: Debatable, amendable and eligible for final vote.

E. Good and Welfare

