2018-2019 Senate Library Annual Report

Submitted by Emily Spunaugle, Chair

Membership

<u>Faculty members</u>: Felicia Chong (CAS), Victoria Lucia (SOM), Chaunda Scott (SEHS), Patricia Patroulias (SON), Julia Rodriguez (KL), Mark Sturtevant (CAS), Christopher Wilson (SHS), Wonjoo Yun (SBA), Katie Greer (KL), Don Matthews (CAS), Matthew McLarnon (CAS), Anne Zacharias (KL), Emily Spunaugle (KL).

<u>Ex-Officio and Non-Voting Members</u>: Stephen Weiter (Dean, UL), Nancy Bulgarelli, (Sr. VP Academic Affairs)

Authors at Oakland

The main work of the SLC is the annual Authors at Oakland event, which celebrates the scholarly output of the OU community, and the student recipients of the Frank Lepkowski Undergraduate Research in Writing Award. The 14th Annual Authors at Oakland: A Celebration of the Journal Article solicited single submissions from the OU and OUWB communities, yielding 217 submissions.

The Library Committee met five times during the 2018-2019 AY, and in two subcommittees actively participated in remote, online work between meetings in preparation for Authors at Oakland. Members:

- Opened eligibility to include current AND retired OU faculty;
- Clarified language regarding pre-publication, online access to articles;
- Reviewed and finalized letter to faculty soliciting their submissions;
- Updated criteria for submissions;
- Created, reviewed, and tested a form to gather submissions;
- Organized and curated submissions;
- Conferred and selected speakers and back-ups for the event.

The Authors at Oakland event was held March 20, 2019. Speakers, invited for the interest of their topics to a general, academic audience, were Suzanne Spencer-Wood "The Creation of the American Playground Movement by Reform Women, 1885-1930: A Feminist Analysis of Materialized Ideological

Transformation in Gender Identities and Power Dynamics, "and T.J. Jourian on "Sexua-Romanticized Pathways of Transmasculine College Students in the USA."

The Frank Lepkowski Undergraduate Research in Writing Award recognizes up to two students who have most successfully integrated library resources, discovered through their own research, in a course paper or project. The 2018-2019 first place recipient was Jeremy Hayden, and second place was Velinka Marton.

Many thanks go to David Stewart (OUWB Library); Sarah Butash and Rob Burns of Library Technical Services; and Kath Borg, Executive Secretary of OU Libraries for their work in preparing for Authors at Oakland.

"Library Services for You"

This series of short presentations from OU Libraries faculty aims to increase awareness of OU Libraries services and resources to support OU faculty and students across campus.

Date	Librarian	Topic
9/25/2018	Asst. Prof. Shawn McCann, Web Services Librarian	On changes to the Library's discovery layer, Library OneSearch, following major updates to the Integrated Library System in Summer 2018
10/30/2018	Assoc. Prof. Julia Rodriguez, Nursing, Health Sciences, and Scholarly Communications Librarian	"Why YOU Should Care about Open Access"
12/5/2018	Asst. Prof. Joanna Thielen, Research Data Librarian and Science Librarian for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, and Physics	Research Data Support at OU Libraries

Kresge Library Updates

In consultation with the Committee Chair, Dean Stephen Weiter delivered regular and timely updates from on topics related to University Libraries' services to its campus community, including:

- Relaunching KL Newsletter
- Flooding of KL and remediation efforts
- OU Libraries Capital Campaign progress
- Dean Weiter retirement and succession plans