September 19, 2013 Agenda September 19, 2013 Senate Agenda

Oakland University Senate 19 September , 2013 Oakland Center – Banquet Room B 3:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by James Lentini for the Steering Committee

A. Informational Items

1. Appointment of Senate Parliamentarian – Jerry Grossman

2. Appointment of Senate Secretary – Dikka Berven

3. Appointment of Senate Elections Committee – Lynn Williams (SHS), Chair, Mark Navin (CAS), T.J. Wharton (SBA)

4. Program Modification approved by Graduate Council: Program Modification to <u>Master of</u> <u>Science in Biology</u>, College of Arts and Sciences – Mr. Dvir

5. Program Modification approved by Graduate Council: Program Modification to <u>Doctor of</u> <u>Philosophy in Biological Sciences: Biological Communication</u> – Mr. Dvir

6. Program Modification approved by Graduate Council: Program Modification to <u>Doctor of</u> <u>Philosophy in Education: Early Childhood Education</u> – Ms. Oden

7. Program Modification approved by Graduate Council: Program Modification to <u>Master of</u> <u>Education in Special Education: Autism Spectrum Disorder</u>- Ms. Graetz

8. Program Modification approved by Graduate Council: Program Modification to the graduate certificate in <u>Special Education: Autism Spectrum Disorder</u> – Ms. Graetz

9. New Certificate Program in <u>Special Education: Specific Learning Disability</u> approved by Graduate Council – Ms. Wigent

10. New Certificate Program in <u>Special Education: Emotional Impairment</u> approved by Graduate Council – Ms. Wigent

11. Program Modification approved by Graduate Council: Program Modification to the <u>Master</u> of <u>Science in Engineering Management</u> Mr. Van Til

12. Policy approved by the Student Academic Support Committee: <u>Active Duty Policy</u> <u>Procedures</u>-Mr. Shablin

13. Merger of Department of Human Resource Development and Department of Educational Leadership into Department of Organizational Leadership – Mr. Maxfield

14. Provost's Updates

B. Roll Call

C. Approval of the minutes of April 11, 2013

D. Old Business

E. New Business

1. Election of the Senate Steering Committee for 2013-2015 – Senate Elections Committee

At the first meeting of a new Senate, the Constitution calls for election of six senators to the Senate Steering Committee for a term of two years. The only limitation on electability of senators to the committee is that no more than two may be elected from any one organized faculty. The Steering Committee normally meets twice a month (Tuesday afternoons at 1 p.m.) to set the Senate agenda, refer business to Senate committees and receive reports from those bodies and advise the Senate on governance issues; it also meets occasionally during the summer. If you wish to nominate someone, please establish in advance that the person is willing to serve. A list of Senate members is available on the Senate Website.

2. Procedural Motion to staff Senate Standing Committees

MOVED that persons listed be appointed to the committees designated:

Assessment Committee

Frank Lepkowki, Library, 2013-2015 (replacing Linda Hildebrand) Open (1) Rajeev Singhal, at-large 2013-2014 (unfilled from previous year)

Campus Development and Environment Committee

Maria Reznar, 2012-2014 (replacing David Kasdan)

Library Committee

Open (1) Heidi Lyons, Social Science, 2013-2015

Planning Review Committee

Open (2) Meghan Harris, SON, 2013-2016 Ron Tracy, SBA, 2013-2015

Research Committee

Ferman Chavez, CAS, 2013-2015 (replacing Deb McGinnis)

Teaching and Learning Committee

Mary Dereski, SOM, 2013-2016 (replacing Mary Bee)

University Committee on Undergraduate Instruction

Art Bull, CAS (Math/Science) 2013-2015 (replacing Steve Wright) David Kidger CAS (Humanities) Fall 2013 (replacing Susan Evans who is on sabbatical) Open (1 SOM) Jennifer Eastwood, SOM, 2012-2015

3. Procedural Motion to appoint Chairs of Senate Standing Committees

MOVED that the persons listed be appointed as chair of the committee designated. Senate Budget Review Committee Arik Dvir, CAS, 2011-2014

<u>Senate Planning Review Committee</u> Janell Townsend, SBA, 2011-2014 (replacing Lynn Williams)

F. Good and Welfare

posted 9/17/2013 updated 9/17/2013