OAKLAND UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF HEALTH SCIENCES

June 17, 2022

To the Oakland University Senate Steering Committee,

This is the Senate Library Committee End-of-Year for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Chair: Kathryn Rougeau

Committee Members: Zexin (Marsha) Ma, Xie Zhu, Tracey Taylor, Tim Donahue, Polly Boruff-Jones, Nancy Bulgarelli, Molly McGuire, Luis Villa Diaz, Jim Van Loon, Jana Nidiffer, Douglas Zytko, Dominique Daniel, Cody Eldredge, Bailee Gierman, Anne Switzer Zacharias, Amartya Sen, Adeline Perhogan

Committee Meetings: We met as a committee once monthly from September 29, 2021, to March 16, 2022, via Zoom.

Sept 29, 2021-

Committee members' introductions took place and the committee charge was read and discussed. Polly Boruff-Jones discussed the update to the library hours and mask policy adherence within the library. She also provided a brief budget and collections update. It was announced that the chair would be taking medical leave and asked for a co-chair to step in for the October meeting. It was decided by the group that an October meeting would not be necessary.

Oct 2021-

The October meeting was canceled due to the chair being on medical leave and the committee's decision not to meet at this time.

Nove 17, 2021-

The submission call for Authors at Oakland was reviewed and approved. Kath Borg sent the call out for approval and relay through the university Friday Announcements and the library list serves. A library update was given by Polly.

Jan 18, 2022-

A library update was given by Polly regarding Winter hours and library guidelines. The submission sub-committee met to discuss all eligible submissions. Those ineligible for consideration due to not meeting the criteria were contacted and it was recommended that they submit at a later date. Summaries were compiled and sent to the committee for review prior to the Feb 8th meeting.

Feb 8, 2022

The committee met to discuss Authors at Oakland submissions and select the two chosen presenters to which invitations would be extended. A library update was given by Polly.

Feb 9- Authors: Dr. Crystal VanKootan and Dr. Erin Dwyer were contacted and invited to speak at the 2022 ceremony. Invitations were also extended to the 2021 Authors who were unable to be recognized due to COIVD (Dr. Jessica Payette accepted, but was unable to attend). The slide show and bibliography were finalized by the presentation sub-committee.



OAKLAND UNIVERSITY

SCHOOL OF HEALTH SCIENCES

March 16, 2022

Authors at Oakland-

Hosted at the Kresge Library, Authors at Oakland included the introduction of the 2022 Frank Lepkowski Writing Awards. Two students were recipients of this award. Provost Rios-Ellis gave a research talk geared toward health and health disparities and selected presenters gave research and book summaries of their work. This event was open to the OU community. A good showing of faculty, staff, and students were present.

March 31, 2022

The Authors at Oakland event was recapped and summarized. Suggestions for next year's event were taken and noted within the meeting minutes. The committee was thanked for their work and time spent making this year & Authors at Oakland a great success. It was noted that the food choices in the celebration were appreciated, but the amount of food could be decreased next year. This could have been due to the mask policy and hesitancy toward eating in public. Food waste was noted as a concern for future events.

Note for 2022-2023:

In reviewing the committee charge, the chair recognizes that student representation is currently missing from this year's committee. A call for student representation will occur in early fall 2022. Future expectations of committee engagement will be discussed as well.

Sincerely,

Kathryn M. Rougeau, Ph.D., CWP, CPT

Assistant Professor | Wellness & Health Promotion

Public & Environmental Wellness Department | School of Health Sciences

