Honorary Degree Committee Annual Report, 2002-2003

Ron Sudol, Chair

The Honorary Degree Committee recommends to the Provost and President candidates for Oakland University honorary degrees. During the past academic year, three honorary degrees were awarded: Eugene A. Miller (Doctor of Humanities), William G. Milliken (Doctor of Laws), and Ashley Bryan (Doctor of Humanities). These degrees were conferred at commencement ceremonies, respectively, of the School of Business Administration, the College of Arts and Sciences, and the School of Education and Human Services.

As in the past, all of these honorary degrees originated as nominations from the university academic community.

In fall 2002 and again in winter 2003 the committee solicited nominations from the academic community. From the nominations received, the committee has forwarded two recommendations.

The first is Gordon England, Deputy Secretary of Homeland Security and former Secretary of the Navy. Mr. England served on the Board of Advisors of the School of Engineering and Computer Science when he was President of General Dynamics Land Systems in Michigan. His honorary degree of Doctor of Science will be conferred in December 2003 or May 2004 at the commencement ceremony of the School of Engineering and Computer Science.

The second recommendation of a prominent individual has not yet gone to the Board of Trustees for approval and therefore cannot be disclosed in this report at this time.

The members of the committee this year were Eddie Cheng, Addington Coppin, Fay Hansen, James Hansen, Anahid Kulwicki, and Anna Spagnuolo.

June 27, 2003