Thursday, Aug 04, 2016 OU wins Best Chapter Award from national political science honor society

For the third consecutive year – and five of the last six years – the national political science honor society Pi Sigma Alpha (PSA) has recognized its Oakland University chapter, Nu Omega, with a Best Chapter Award. The honor is given to chapters that are exceptionally active in their departments and universities and exhibit high levels of energy and creativity in furthering the goals of PSA.

"I believe the success of the chapter is a testament to the ever-increasing, high quality of students at Oakland University and in the Political Science department," said Terri Towner, associate professor of political science and Nu Omega faculty adviser. "I also credit the tremendous support from faculty and staff in the College of Arts and Sciences, as well as surrounding community members and leaders in Michigan."

Calling OU's chapter "a model for all others," Pi Sigma Alpha Executive Director Sean Twombly noted that Oakland was one of only three schools with enrollments between 15,000 and 25,000 students selected to receive a Best Chapter Award.

Earlier this year, the Nu Omega Chapter inducted 50 new members, its second-largest number of new members since it was chartered at Oakland University in 1983. An induction dinner and ceremony was held at Meadow Brook Hall for new inductees, along with current and past members, faculty, family and friends. The evening was keynoted by Katherine Van Tiem, who is currently the District Director for Congressman Mike Bishop. In addition, Congressman Bishop congratulated new inductees via web video.

Nu Omega members continue to shine at national political science conferences. Last February, seven members presented their original research at the third annual Pi Sigma Alpha National Undergraduate Conference in Washington D.C.

In April, five members – Zuzanna Gos, Jenna Blankenship, Mikaela Strech, Megan Hoberg, and Jacqueline Yee – presented their research at the 2016 Midwest Political Science Association Annual Meeting. Strech, Hoberg and Yee also served as panelists on the "Meet the Editors" Round Table, representing the Editorial Board for the "Pi Sigma Alpha Undergraduate Journal of Politics."



From left: Molly Knappenberger, Priscilla Ghita, Megan Hoberg, Shanna Johnson, Mikaela Strech, Professor Terri Towner, Amanda Stevens, and Christian Tecker at 2016 Pi Sigma Alpha National Undergraduate Conference in Washington D.C.



Nu Omega chapter members with Professor Towner at the 2016 induction ceremony at Meadow Brook Hall.

Nu Omega has hosted "The Pi Sigma Alpha Undergraduate Journal of Politics" since 2013 and was recently approved to host the journal another three years. The journal publishes outstanding undergraduate research from around the country on a bi-annual basis, and is oper entirely by undergraduate students from the host university, who review, edit, and produce the journal.

"The Pi Sigma Alpha Executive Board was pleased with the quality of the research published, as well as the timeliness of publication," Dr. Towner noted.

For being named a 2016 Best Chapter, Nu Omega will receive a check for \$250 and a certificate from the national PSA organization.

Pi Sigma Alpha is the only honor society for college-level political science students in the U.S.