College of Arts and Sciences Assembly Meeting Minutes September 26, 2017, 3:30 p.m. Lake Superior Room, Oakland Center

Members present: Barry, Battles, Benz, Berven, D., Berven, K., Cheng, Corso, Dvir, Freed, Gooren, Guest, Halpin, Herold, Li, Mathew, McDonald, Miller, Pobutsky, Reger, Roth, Spagnuolo, Tonsing, Tucker, Wang, Yang,

Members absent: Eis, Navin, Su, Walwema, Westrick

Ex-Officio present: Corcoran, Stewart, Wiggins

Dean Corcoran called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. and welcomed Assembly members, saying that in addition to a number of announcements this meeting would be dedicated to the approval of recommended members to the CAS committees and the election of the Executive Committee

1. Appointments of Secretary and Parliamentarian

Dikka Berven and John Corso were appointed Secretary and Parliamentarian, respectively.

2. Approval of Minutes, Meeting of March 21, 2017

The minutes of the meeting of March 21, 2017, were approved without objection.

3. Approval of recommend member for the Elections Committee

There was a motion to approve the following recommended members and Chair to the Elections Committee (Cheng, Berven). The motion was approved unanimously.

New member:

Sam Srauy, Communication and Journalism, 2017-2019

Continuing members:

Angela Kaiser, Social Work, 2016-2019 Kuniko Nielsen, Linguistics, 2015, 2018

Chair of Elections Committee: Kuniko Nielsen

4. Nominations and elections to the Executive Committee (three vacancies)

The Elections Committee conducted the election of the CAS Executive Committee. The election results are as follows:

New members:

Keith Berven, At Large, 2017-2019 Anna Spagnuolo, Mathematics/Sciences, 2017-2019 Henri Gooren, Social Sciences, 2017-2019 Continuing members (neither of whom is available in Winter 2018):

Kathleen Battles, Communication and Journalism (Language/Literature), 2016-2018 Karen Miller, History (Humanities), 2016-2018

Replacement members for winter 2018 semester for Battles and Miller:

Matt Tucker, Language/Literature Mark Navin, Humanities

5. Approval of recommended members for the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC)

The motion was made to approve the following recommended members and Chair for the Graduate Studies Committee (Cheng, Battles). The motion was approved unanimously.

New members:

Wendi Johnson, Social Work (Social Sciences), 2017-2019

Adina Schneeweis, Communication and Journalism (Language/Literature), 2017-2019

Evan Trivedi, Chemistry (Mathematics/Science), 2017-2019

Continuing members:

Lan Jiang, Biological Sciences (At Large), 2016-2018

Weldon (Don) Matthews, History (Humanities), 2016-2018

Melissa McDonald, Psychology (At Large), 2016-2018

Chair for Graduate Studies Committee: Weldon (Don) Matthews

6. Approval of recommended members for the Committee on Instruction (COI)

The motion was made to approve the following recommended members and Chair for the Committee on Instruction (Miller, Dvir). The motion was approved unanimously.

New members:

Graham Cassano, Sociology (Social Sciences), 2017-2019

Kapila Castoldi, Physics (At Large), 2017-2019

Lori Ostergaard, Writing and Rhetoric (Language/Literature), 2017-2019

Continuing members:

Amy Banes-Berceli, Biological Sciences (Math/Science), 2016-2018

Melissa Hoang, Music Theatre and Dance (Humanities), 2016-2018

Robert Sidelinger, Communication and Journalism (At Large), 2016-2018

Chair: Robert Sidelinger

7. Information item: Members of the CAS Committee on Promotion for 2017-2018 (CAP)

The members of the Committee on Promotion for 2017-2018 are the following:

Sean Moran, History (Humanities), 2015-2018

Bradley Roth, Physics (Mathematics/Science), 2015-2018

Jennifer Law Sullivan, Modern Languages and Literatures (Language/Literature), 2016-2019

Dorothy Nelson, Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work and Criminal Justice (Social Sciences), 2016-2019

Fay Hansen, Biology (Mathematics/Science), 2017-2020

Kelly Hay, Communication and Journalism (At Large), 2017-2020

8. Good and Welfare/Announcements

- Associate Dean Stewart said that he is working with Career Services to encourage them to change the way companies are operating in the Career Fair. Presently, they tend to advertise their jobs for certain majors, but Mr. Stewart said there would be a much broader audience if they were to include skill sets instead of limiting their ads to majors. He noted that this would be a more reasonable way to determine future employment for our students, and offer them more opportunities across the majors. Ms. Reger suggested adding the Macomb agreement to this. Mr. Stewart distributed the new document that lists the participating employers who will be at the Fall Career Fair, and he pointed out that this information is also available on the Career Services website.
- Dean Corcoran said that they had recollected information about faculty travel plans for this year because there were more people who said they were planning to travel than traveled last year.
 The CAS needs to find out who will actually be traveling, and so a second message was sent out.
 He said this should be discussed in CAS departments.
- Mr. Corcoran asked Assembly members to spread the word about next Wednesday (October 4) Climate Survey Town Hall meeting. He added that there will be follow-up focus groups. He reminded the Assembly that the results have been published, and noted that there will also be a time for staff and students to attend, not only faculty.
- Mr. Corcoran reminded Assembly members that this is his fifth and, therefore, review year as dean of the CAS, and noted that he is now working for his third president in those five years. He said he had invited the new president, Ora Pescovitz, to the All-College Assembly meeting, but she was already booked for that date. He said that the CAS has made an offer for any Tuesday between now and Thanksgiving, so the date/schedule for the All-College Assembly will be adapted to her availability. He added that in the coming weeks there will be a questionnaire for evaluation regarding his review, and he encouraged Assembly members to fill it out.
- Mr. Corcoran pointed out that the CAS at this time is one associate dean short because Anne
 Hitt was appointed Interim Provost to replace Susan Awbrey, who retired. He said that there will
 be an announcement for an internal search for the winter, with the person to be selected by
 November. He noted this appointed position will run to the end of the contract year, which is
 the end of August, with further information forthcoming.

9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dikka Berven (secretary)