Oakland University Senate

20 September, 2018 Oakland Center – Banquet Room B 3:10 p.m.

Agenda

Respectfully submitted by James Lentini for the Steering Committee

A. Informational Items

- 1. Appointment of Senate Parliamentarian Mr. Lentini
- 2. Appointment of the Senate Secretary Mr. Lentini
- 3. Appointment of Senate Elections Committee Mr. Lentini
- 4. Ad Hoc Campus Tree Advisory Committee Ms. Engle, Mr. Stanton
- 5. Provost's Updates
- B. Roll Call
- C. Approval of the minutes of April 19, 2018
- D. <u>Old Business</u>

None

- E. New Business
 - 1. Election of the Senate Steering Committee for the 2018-2019 academic year Senate Elections Committee

The Senate needs to fill a one-year vacancy on the Senate Steering Committee. The only limitation on electability of senators to this Committee is that no more than two may be elected from any one organized faculty. Consequently, members from the College of Arts and Sciences are not eligible for consideration. The Steering Committee normally meets twice a month (Tuesday afternoons from 1:00 to 3:00) to set the Senate agenda, refer business to Senate committees and receive reports from those bodies and advise the Senate on governance issues; it may also meet occasionally during the summer. If you wish to nominate someone, please establish in advance that the person is willing to serve. A list of Senate members is available on the Senate webpage.

Current membership of the Steering Committee includes: Andrea Eis (CAS), Beth Wallis (KL), Mark Rigstad (CAS) Ron Tracy (SBA), and Dan Aloi (SECS). In addition, Provost Lentini and the Secretary of the Senate, Dikka Berven, also participate in Steering Committee meetings.

2. Motion from the Steering Committee to change the titles and/or offices to reflect current titles and offices in committee membership lists

MOVED that the following titles and/or offices be changed to reflect current titles and office names in committee charges and membership.

Old	New
Associate Vice President for Technical Services and Classroom Support (TSCS)	Executive Director for Classroom Support and Technical Instructional Services
Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations	Vice President for University Advancement
Vice President for Student Affairs or Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management	Vice President for Student Affairs and Chief Diversity Officer
Senior Associate Provost	Associate Provost
Associate Vice President for Research	Chief Research Officer
Vice Provost for Graduate Study	Dean, Graduate Education

First Reading: Amendable, debatable but not eligible for final vote at this meeting.

Comment: Document

Committee Charges and Membership New Format with changes highlighted

3. Procedural Motion to staff Senate Standing Committees

MOVED that persons listed be appointed to the committees or positions designated:

Academic Computing Committee

Academic Conduct Committee

Hammond, Michelle (SBA) 2018-2019 replacing Lori Dorko 2017-2019 for conflict

Academic Standing and Honors Committee

Bazinski, Steve (SECS) Winter 2019 replacing Yin Yu-Thompson for her sabbatical

Assessment Committee

Beres, Jan (SON) 2018-2019 replacing Carrie Buch for remainder of her term Kareen Tonsing (CAS) 2018-2019 replacing Miles Brown (2017-2019) resigned

Athletics Committee

Budget Review Committee

Campus Development and Environment Committee

General Education Committee

Coppin, Addington (SBA) Fall 2018 replacing Ram Orzach 2016-2019 for his sabbatical

Honorary Degree Committee

Taku, Kana (CAS) 2018-2019 replacing Eric LaRock (CAS) 2016-2019 for his Fall 2018
Sabbatical and Ravi Khattree (CAS) 2016-2019 for his Winter 2019
sabbatical

Library Committee

Zhao, Peng (SECS) 2018-2020 Spugnaugle, Emily (KL) 2018-2020 **CHAIR** replacing Dominique Daniel 2020 Engwall, Keith (Medical Librarian) 2018-2020

Planning Review Committee

Research Committee

Tomlin, Kasaundra (SBA) 2018-2020 replacing Janell Townsend 2018-2020 Insko, Jeff (CAS) 2018-2020 replacing Allison Powell (CAS) 2018-2020 Hoag, Melissa (CAS) 2018-2020 replacing Mary Dereski (SOM) 2018-2020

Student Academic Support Committee

McCarty, Susan (CAS) replacing Melissa Hoag 2018-2021

Teaching and Learning Committee

University Committee on Undergraduate Instruction

Sidelinger, Rob (CAS – LL) 2018-2019 replacing Lisa Levinson

F. Good and Welfare