



SENATE

Oakland University Senate

First Meeting

September 20, 2001 Oakland Center, Gold Rooms B & C 3:10 p.m.

Agenda

Respectfully submitted by Virinder Moudgil for the Steering Committee.

- A. <u>Information items</u>.
 - 1. Appointment of Senate Parliamentarian and Secretary
 - 2. Appointment of Senate Elections Committee
 - 3. Budget report--Gary Russi
- B. Roll Call Approval of the <u>minutes</u> of the April 12, 2001 meeting.

C. Old Business.

None

D. <u>New Business</u>

1. Election of Senate Steering Committee (Senate Elections Committee)

As this is the first meeting of a new Senate, the Constitution calls for election of six senators to the Senate Steering Committee for terms of two years. The only limitation on electability of senators to this Committee is that no more than two may be elected from any one organized faculty. The Steering Committee normally meets twice a month (Tuesday afternoons) to set the Senate agenda, refer business to Senate committees and receive reports from those bodies and advise the Senate on governance issues; it also meets occasionally during the spring and summer. If you wish to nominate someone, please establish in advance that the person is willing to serve. For a list of Senate members see the list of current senators.

2. Procedural motion from the Steering Committee to staff Senate standing committees (Mr. Schwartz)

MOVED that the persons listed below be appointed to the committees designated

and that those so designated be appointed as chairs of their respective committees:

A. ACADEMIC AND CAREER ADVISING COMMITTEE

Darlene Schott Baer (School of Nursing) as chair.

B. ACADEMIC COMPUTING COMMITTEE

John McEneaney (School of Education and Human Services) as chair

C. CAMPUS DEVELOPMENT AND ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE Linda Benson (Department of History) as chair

D. GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Robert Stewart (Department of Psychology) as chair

E. HONORARY DEGREE COMMITTEE

James T. Hansen (School of Education and Human Services) --2001-2002 to replace Geoffrey Wawro (Department of History)

F. HUMAN RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Brian Murphy (Department of English) as chair

G. RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Jim Cipielewski (School of Education and Human Services) as chair

H. SENATE BUDGET REVIEW COMMITTEE

Gadis (Buck) Dillon (School of Business Administration) as chair

I. SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE

Karen Miller (Department of History) as chair

J. TEACHING AND LEARNING COMMITTEE

David Sidaway (School of Business Administration) as chair Ingrid Rieger (Department of Modern Languages and Literatures) --2001-2003 replacement for Barbara Mabee (Department of Modern Languages and Literatures)

Procedural motion: Debatable, amendable and eligible for final vote.

E. Good and welfare

Note: New Senate web site for Senate Committee Annual Reports: http://www.oakland.edu/senate/comannrpts.html

Note: Vacancies still remain on the following committees. Please inform you colleagues of these opportunities.

Academic Computing Committee-- 1 vacancy--Fall term 2001 replacement for Alan Park (Department of Mathematics and Statistics)

Academic Conduct Committee-- 1 vacancy--Fall term 2001 replacement for Nicole Buffard-O'Shea

(Department of Modern Languages and Literatures)



9/18/01