Academic Computing Committee (ACC) 2002-2003 Annual Report to the Senate

2002-2003 ACC Members

Balaji Rajagopalan, Chair (School of Business Administration), 2001-2003
Joann Bangs (School of Business Administration), 2001-2003
Celina Byers, (School of Education and Human Services), 2002-2004
Linda Hildebrand, (Library), 2001-2003
Marshall Kitchens, (Department of Rhetoric, Communication and Journalism, CAS), 2002-2004
Gerard Jozwiak, (Director of Academic Computing Services, ex officio)
Gary Moore, (School of Nursing), 2002-2004
Jack Nachman, (Department of Mathematics and Statistics), 2001-2003
Theresa Rowe, (Director of Academic Computing Services (ex officio))
Ishwar Sethi, (Chair of the Computer Science and Engineering Department, ex officio)
Justine Speer, (School of Nursing), 2002-2004
Ron Srodawa (School of Engineering and Computer Science), 2001-2003

The Committee met ten times during the academic year. Copies of agendas and minutes of the meetings are available at: <u>http://www.sba.oakland.edu/faculty/rajagopa/acc/acc-main.htm</u>. A special project initiated last year by Balaji Rajagopalan and John E. McEneaney - Research Resources Database was reviewed by the committee and implemented by the IT group. The purpose of the database is to provide information on university wide computing resources that support research activities.

Other committee actions during the year include:

- 1. reviewed, discussed and provided feedback on IT Security Policy.
- 2. implemented a Research Resources Database.

3. learned about Classroom Technology in the new School of Education and Human Resources building.

4. considered roles and responsibilities of IT-related units at Oakland University and provided feedback for improving service and support.

- 5. reviewed and discussed problems with technology infrastructure, particularly those related to email.
- 6. discussed the new IT governance structure.

With the new IT governance structure in place, the committee unanimously expressed support for the addition of a representative from the E-lis group to the committee.