ORGANIZATION OF THE UNIVERSITY

The Board of Trustees is the final authority for the policies of Michigan State University and Michigan State University Oakland.

The chief administrative officer of the Board of Trustees is the President, who serves as the Board's Chairman.

The President, in turn, has designated the Chancellor as the principal administrative officer for Michigan State University Oakland and holds him responsible for the effective and efficient operation of the institution.

To promote the objectives of this University; to provide for a democratic and orderly procedure; and to bring the many talents of the staff and faculty of the University to bear on important problems; the following organization of the University is established.

I. The Assembly --

Shall include all Board appointees involved in academic or administrative positions.

This body shall meet quarterly at a date to be established by the Chancellor, or on call of the Chancellor. It shall consider such matters as may be referred by the Educational Policy Committee--normally matters of general University interest which are not exclusively academic in nature. It may also identify problems or projects for consideration by the Educational Policy Committee.

Decisions shall be made by a majority of those voting, provided that such majority constitutes 25 per cent or more of those Assembly members eligible to vote.

The presiding officer shall be the Chancellor, with the Dean of the Faculty presiding in his absence. The Director of Admissions shall serve as Secretary.

II. The Academic Senate --

The Academic Senate shall include:

- (a) the Chancellor, the Dean of the Faculty, the Dean of Students, the Director of University Relations, the Director of Continuing Education, the Director of Business Affairs, the Director of Admissions, the University Librarian; and
- (b) the members of the faculty, the faculty to include all officers of instruction bearing the title of Professor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor, Instructor, or Lecturer (exclusive of visiting professors or visiting lecturers).

This body shall meet monthly at a date to be established by the Chancellor or on call of the Chancellor, or in his absence, the Dean of the Faculty. It shall consider such matters as may be referred by the Educational Policy Committee, normally those relating primarily to academic affairs. It may also identify problems or projects for consideration by the Educational Policy Committee.

Decisions shall be made by a majority of those voting, provided that such majority constitutes 25 per cent or more of those Senate members eligible to vote.

The presiding officer shall be the Chancellor, with the Dean of the Faculty presiding in his absence. The Director of Admissions shall serve as Secretary.

III. The Educational Policy Committee --

Shall consist of seven members: the Chancellor, the Dean of the Faculty, three to be elected by the Senate from the faculty as defined in Section II above and nominated from the floor (each for a one-year term but eligible for re-election for a total of not more than three years in succession), and two to be appointed by the Chancellor (each to serve for one year, subject to re-appointment not to exceed three years in succession).

This group shall meet monthly upon dates set by the Chancellor, or upon call of the Chancellor, or in his absence, the Dean of the Faculty.

Four votes shall be necessary for the passage of any motion.

This Committee shall:

- (a) establish such standing committees as it deems appropriate;
- (b) create ad hoc committees for special purposes;
- (c) designate the membership and fix the terms for all committees;
- (d) consider matters brought to its attention from the Assembly, the Senate, or from any other source if deemed important;
- (e) refer matters to appropriate committees for study and recommendation; and
- (f) refer matters to the Assembly or the Academic Senate for action, with appropriate recommendations.

The Chancellor shall serve as Chairman, with the Dean of the Faculty presiding in his absence. The Chairman shall appoint a Secretary from the membership.

Any proposal dealing with subjects important to the welfare of the University, except purely administrative matters, shall be brought to the attention of the Educational Policy Committee. This Committee, after due study, may refer the proposal to:

- (a) an appropriate committee for further study and recommendation, or
- (b) the Academic Senate for action, or
- (c) the Assembly for action.

Subjects raised at the meeting of either the Assembly or the Senate are not eligible for vote until they have been referred to the Educational Policy Committee for study and recommendation.

If, after three months, any matter referred by the Assembly or the Senate has not been reported to the house of origin, the Educational Policy Committee may be discharged from further consideration of that particular matter by a majority vote of those in the originating group eligible to vote.

Any matter not reported to either the Assembly or the Senate within six months after receipt by the Educational Policy Committee shall be considered dead.

This organization is created for the period ending July 1, 1962, at which time the structure shall be re-studied with a view toward re-organization.