

SENATE

Oakland University Senate

First Meeting Thursday, 18 September 1986 3:10 p.m. Rooms 128-130, Oakland Center

AGENDA

Respectfully submitted by Keith R. Kleckner for the Steering Committee.

A. <u>Old Business:</u> None

- B. New Business:
- 1. Election to fill two Steering Committee vacancies (Mr. Witt, Elections Committee Chair)

Comment: Robert Edgerton, on leave for this academic year, has resigned his position on the Steering Committee. Elaine Chapman Moore has left the Senate. These actions leave us with two vacancies for 1986-87. Continuing members of the Steering Committee include Mr. Downing, Ms. Eberwein, Mr. Hough, and Ms. Wilson. Article IV, ix, of the Constitution of the Oakland University Senate stipulates that the Steering Committee is to consist of six Senators elected by the Senate; no more than two seats shall be held by Senators from any one faculty. With Mr. Downing and Ms. Eberwein both belonging to the College of Arts and Sciences, faculty from that unit are ineligible A list of current Senators accompanies this agenda to assist members in nominating candidates.

2. Motion from the Steering Committee nominating certain faculty members to fill vacancies on Senate standing committees (Ms. Wilson).

MOVED that the faculty nominated below be confirmed as appointed to committees and terms as specified:

- a. <u>Academic and Career Advising Committee</u>
 Ann Pogany to replace Lawrence Lilliston (1986-87)
- b. <u>Admissions and Financial Aid Committee</u>
 Daniel Ring to replace Patrick Strauss (1986-87)
- c. <u>Campus Development and Environment Committee</u> Bonnie Abiko to replace Janice Schimmelman (fall 1986)

- d. Teaching and Learning Committee
 - Leo Gerulaitis to replace Theresa Cross as chair (1986-87) Robert Goldstein to replace Theresa Cross as member (1986-87)
- e . <u>Academic Policy and Planning Committee</u> George Coon to replace William Jones (1986-88)

Procedural Motion; Debatable, amendable, and eligible for vote.

C. Good and Welfare:

Private Resolutions

- D. Information Items:
- 1. UCUI hearing on Ethics in the Curriculum proposal: September 24 (Wednesday), 12-1:30 p.m., Gold Rooms B & C. (Ms. Ebervein).
- 2. Progress reports on library addition and new science building (Mr. Dahlgren).
- 3. Fall enrollment picture.
- 4. Miscellanea.

OAKLAND UNIVERSITY SENATE 1986-87

Joseph Champagne, President Keith Kleckner, Provost

College of Arts and Sciences

Brian Copenhaver, Dean

Sheldon Appleton

John Barnard

John Barthel

Peter Bertocci

Virginia Blankenship

Richard Burke

J. Curtis Chipman

Mary Coffey

David Downing

Jane Eberwein

Robert Eberwein

George Feeman

Wilma Garcia

Leo Gerulaitis

Renate Gerulaitis

Jerrold Grossman

Barbara Hamilton Edward Heubel Paul Ketchum Vincent Khapoya Abraham Liboff Kathleen Moore Margaret Pigott S. Bernard Thomas Anne Tripp

School of Business Administration Ronald Horwitz, Dean Lizabeth Barclay David Diltz Robbin Hough Floyd Willoughby

School of Engineering and Computer Science Gilbert Wedekind, Acting Dean Robert Edgerton Ronald Srodawa Howard Witt

Office of Graduate Study George Dahlgren

School of of Health Sciences' Joel Russell, Interim Dean Richard Rozek

Eye Research Institute Venkat Reddy, Director Kenneth Hightower

School of Human and Educational Services
Gerald Pine, Dean
Jane Bingham
Gloria Blatt
James Clatworthy
Roderic Righter
Ronald Swartz

<u>Library</u> Suzanne Frankie, Dean Linda Hildebrand Richard Pettengill (1986-87)

School of Nursing Andrea Lindell, Dean Penny Cass (1985-86) Diane Wilson

Administrative/Professional Joan Stinson (1986-87) Carole Terry

<u>Students</u> Anthony Boganey Keith Faber Randall Straughen

President's Appointees Frank Cardimen Paul Hartman David Herrnan

9/12/86

