



Oakland University Senate

First Meeting
Thursday, 17 September 1987
3:10 p.m.
Gold Room A and B, Oakland Center

AGENDA

Respectfully submitted by Keith R. Kleckner for the Steering Committee

- A. President's Remarks
- B. Old Business
 None
- C. New Business
- 1. Steering Committee Elections (Mr. Witt, Elections Committee Chair)

Comment: Six Senators are to be elected to serve during 1987-1989. Article IV, ix, of the Constitution of the Oakland University Senate, as amended and approved 6 May 1982, reads as follows with respect to the membership of that body:

ix. The University Senate shall have a Steering Committee composed of the Provost of the University (or his designee), who shall serve as chairperson, and six other Senators, elected at the fist Senate meeting of the Fall semester. The Committee's term of office shall be two years. No more than two seats shall be held by Senators from any one faculty.

A list of current Senateors accompanies this agenda to assit members in nominating candidates.

2. Motion from the Steering Committee nominating certain faculty members to fill vacancies on Senate standing committees (Mr. Hough):

MOVED that the faculty nominated below be confirmed as appointed to committees and terms as specified:

- a. <u>Academic Standing and Honors Committee</u>
 Darrell Schmidt to replace Augustin Fosu (1987-88)
- b. Research Committee

Mary Van Sell to replace Kevin Murphy (1987-88)

c. Teaching and Learning Committee

Wallis Andersen to replace Barbara Hamilton (fall 1987) Kathryn McArdle-Pigott to replace Mary Ann Krammin (1987-88)

Procedural motion: Debatable, amendable and eligible for vote.

D. Good and welfare

Private resolutions

E. <u>Information items</u> (Mr. Kleckner)

OAKLAND UNIVERSITY SENATE

1987-89 Joseph Champagne, President Keith Kleckner, Provost

College of Arts and Sciences

Brian Copenhaver, Dean

Bonnie Abiko

Sheldon Appleton

John Barthel

Jean Braun

Richard Burke

J. Curtis Chipman

Mary Coffey

David Downing

Jane Eberwein

Robert Eberwein

Isaac Eliezer

Renate Gerulaitis

Jerrold Grossman

Lucinda Hart-Gonzalez

Mary Karasch

Paul Ketchum

Karen Maschke

Joan Rosen

Janice Schimmelman

Richard Stamps

Robert Stern

Anne Tripp

Robert Williamson

School of Business Administration

Ronald Horwitz, Dean

Robbin Hough Barbara Kiwicz Thomas Lauer Soo-young Moon

School of Engineering and Computer Science Robert Desmond, Dean Bhushan Bhatt Richard Haskell Glenn Jackson Gilbert Wedekind

Office of Graduate Study George Dahlgren

School of Health Sciences Ronald Olson, Dean Chris Pillow Mary Sherman

Eye Research Institute Venkat Reddy, Director Michael Riley

School of Human and Educational Services
Gerald Pine, Dean
Diane Borders (to be replaced)
Robert Brown
Robert Christina
William Fish
Sharon Muir

<u>Library</u> Suzanne Frankie, Dean Sharon Bostick Richard Pettengill

School of Nursing Andrea Lindell, Dean Penny Cass Diane Wilson

Administrative/Professional Elizabeth Millwood Joan Stinson

<u>Students</u> Keith Faber Randall Straughen **David Stillman**

President's Appointees Frank Cardimen Paul Hartman David Herman

