MEMORANDUM

TO:	Dikka Berven Secretary, University Senate
FROM:	Mary Stein Chair, Honorary Degree Committee (2012-2013)
RE:	Chair's Annual Report on Honorary Degree Committee Activities during 2012-2013
DATE:	May 16, 2013

The Honorary Degree Committee conducts initial screening of honorary degree nominations and recommends to the Provost and President candidates for Oakland University honorary degrees.

The Honorary Degree Committee solicited nominations from the Oakland University Community in the fall with nominations due December 7, 2012. From the nominations received, the committee forwarded two recommendations. One of these recommendations, Mr. Sergio Marchionne, was approved by the Board of Trustees at the February, 2013 meeting. The Board of Trustees also approved awarding Baroness Caroline Cox an honorary degree at this same meeting. Baroness Cox had been recommended for an honorary degree by a previous Honorary Degree Committee. The 2012-2013 Honorary Degree Committee's other recommendation has not yet gone to the Board of Trustees for approval and therefore cannot be disclosed in this report.

During the April commencement, two honorary degrees were awarded:

Mr. Sergio Marchionne, CEO of Fiat and Chairman and CEO of the Chrysler Group, received an honorary Doctor of Science Honoris Causa.

Baroness Caroline Cox, international humanitarian, received an honorary Doctor of Humanities Honoris Causa.

The committee noted that the call for nominations provides insufficient detail with respect to the nature, breadth, and depth of materials that should be included in a nomination packet. The committee recommends that a future committee consider providing more information in the call for nominations related to the expectations of nomination packets. The committee also noted that once nominations are forwarded to the Provost and President for consideration, communication back to the committee

regarding their status is absent. This may be necessary for purposes of due diligence and confidentiality, however establishing some generalized mechanisms for feedback to the committee would be helpful to the committee as they engage in the recommendation process.

Committee Members

Jacqueline S. Drouin, Associate Professor, Physical Therapy Valerie Palmer-Mehta, Associate Professor, Communication Rammohan Pisharodi, Associate Professor, Marketing Michael Polis, Professor, Engineering Todd Shackelford, Professor, Psychology Mary Stein (Chair), Professor and Interim Associate Provost Ronald Tracy, Associate Professor, Economics