# Oakland University Senate

First Meeting September 16, 1999 Oakland Center Gold Rooms 3:10 p.m.

## Agenda

Refreshments will be served.

Respectfully submitted by the Steering Committee.

- A. Approval of the minutes of the April 15, 1999 Senate meeting.
- B. Information items.
  - 1. Appointment of Senate Parliamentarian and Secretary
  - 2. Golf Course update
  - 3. Amended Senate Constitution-status report
  - 4. Lebanon MBA program
  - 5. OU Hiring Practices/Procedures-status report
  - 6. Master Plan update--Ms. Schaefer
  - 7. Multipurpose Complex--Ms. Schaefer
  - 8. Enrollment update; Enrollment Planning Council
  - 9. Capital Campaign
  - 10. Pouring Rights Agreement
- C. Old Business

none

- D. New Business
- 1. Election of Senate Steering Committee (Senate Elections Committee)

As this is the first meeting of a new Senate, the Constitution calls for election of six senators to the Senate Steering Committee for terms of two years. The only limitation on electability of senators to this Committee is that no more than two may be elected from any one organized faculty. The Steering Committee normally meets twice a month (Tuesday afternoons from 1:00 to 3:00) to set the Senate agenda, refer business to Senate committees and receive reports from those bodies and advise the Senate on governance issues; it also meets occasionally during the spring and summer. If you wish to nominate someone, please establish in advance that the person is willing to serve. For a list of Senate members see the <a href="List of current senators">List of current senators</a>.

2. Procedural motion from the Steering Committee to staff Senate standing committees (Mr.

Grossman)

MOVED that the persons listed below be appointed to Senate standing committees for the terms specified:

### A. ACADEMIC CONDUCT COMMITTEE

Bill Hoerr (School of Education and Human Services)--1999-2001

#### **B. SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE**

School of Engineering and Computer Science Mohamed Zohdy (School of Engineering and Computer Science)--1999-2001

#### C. RESEARCH COMMITTEE

Phyllis Rooney (Department of Philosophy) to replace Richard Campbell (Department of Linguistics)--1999-2000

Chris Clason (Department of Modern Languages and Literatures) to replace Barbara Mabee (Department of Modern Languages and Literatures)--1999-2001

#### D. UNIVERSITY COMMITTEE ON UNDERGRADUATE INSTRUCTION

Library

Shawn Lombardo (Library) to replace Frank Lepkowski (Library)--1999-2000

Procedural motion: Debatable, amendable and eligible for final vote.

Comment: Veteran senators will not be surprised to find corollary motions on subsequent agendas to replace members who will be on leave. Faculty who wish to volunteer for Senate standing committees may still make their wishes known to the Steering Committee and will be considered as vacancies arise. When considering the overall balance of these committees, it is important to remember that most have student and administrative members as well as faculty elected by the Senate. The membership rosters of the 1999-2000 Senate Committees can be viewed at <a href="http://www.oakland.edu/senate/members.html">http://www.oakland.edu/senate/members.html</a>.

### E. Good and welfare.

Note: Vacancies still exist on the Academic Conduct Committee (1 vacancy, 1999-2001), the Honorary Degree Committee (1 vacancy, 1999-2001), University Committee on Undergraduate Instruction (School of Health Sciences--1 vacancy, 1999-2002). Please share these opportunities to participate in university governance with your colleagues.

Return to Senate Home Page

updated 9/14/99

asep16.