



Oakland University Senate

First Meeting

22 September 2005 Elliott Hall Auditorium 3:10 p.m.

Agenda

Respectfully submitted by Virinder Moudgil for the Steering Committee

A. Information Items

- 1. Appointment of Senate Parliamentarian: Jerrold Grossman
- 2. Appointment of Senate Secretary: Tamara Machmut-Jhashi

3. Appointment of Senate Elections Committee: Brian Goslin (chair), Barbara Hamilton, Richard Stamps

4. Overview of the Foundations of Excellence First-Year Experience Project -- Ms. Awbrey

5. President?s Budget Update scheduled for October meeting

B. Roll Call

Approval of the minutes of the April 21 meeting.

C. Old Business

None

D. New Business

1. Election of Senate Steering Committee (Senate Elections Committee: Mr. Goslin, chair)

As this is the first meeting of a new Senate, the Constitution calls for election of six senators to the Senate Steering Committee for terms of two years. The only limitation on electability of senators to the Committee is that no more than two may be elected from any one organized faculty. The Steering Committee normally meets twice a month (Tuesday afternoons) to set the Senate agenda, business to Senate committees and receive reports from those bodies and advise the Senate on governance issues; it also meets occasionally during the spring and summer. If you

wish to nominate someone, please establish in advance that the person is willing to serve. For a list of Senate members see the <u>list of current senators</u>.

2. Procedural motion from the Steering Committee to staff Senate standing committees (Mr. Tracy)

MOVED that the persons listed below be appointed to the committees designated:

ACADEMIC CONDUCT COMMITTEE

John Klemanski (Political Science) -- 2005-2007

ACADEMIC COMPUTING COMMITTEE

Gary Moore (Nursing) -- Fall 2005 (replacement for Yang Xia, Physics) Kieran Matheison (Decision and Information Science) -- Fall 2005 (replacement for Mark Isken (Decision & Information Science)

ATHLETICS COMMITTEE

Robby Stewart (Psychology) -- Fall 2005 (replacement for David Kidger , MTD) Joseph Schiele (Decision & Information Science) -- Fall 2005 (replacement for Ed Farragher (Accounting & Finance)

GENERAL EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Stafford Rorke (Health Sciences) -- Fall 2005 (replacement for Don Mayer, Management and Marketing

HONORARY DEGREE COMMITTEE

Miron Stano (Economics) -- 2005-2008

HUMAN RELATIONS COMMITTEE

Howard Schwartz (Management and Marketing) -- Fall 2005 (replacement for Karen Markel (Management & Marketing)

POLICE OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Ferman Chavez (Chemistry) -- 2005-2007 Catherin Haar (Rhetoric, Communication & Journalism) -- 2005-2007

UNIVERSITY RESEARCH COMMITTEE

James Hansen (Counseling) -- 2005-2007

Procedural Motion: Debatable, amendable and eligible for final vote.

F. Good and Welfare

Senate motions: To ensure that motions accurately reflect the intent and wording of the mover, all motions from the floor should be given to the secretary in written format prior to the meeting or when the motion is presented to the Senate.

Senate Rules of Operation:

1. Agendas be organized similar to those of the Board of Trustees with reports followed by a roll call to determine if a quorum is present.

2. Votes on all Senate actions be recorded for the minutes and public record.

a. Yes votes be recorded for all Senators present for unanimous votes.

b. Senators voting no or abstaining be noted for votes with small numbers in those classes and votes for all other Senators present being recorded as yes votes.

c. Roll call votes be taken whenever there is a significant division.

last updated:9/19/05

