Academic Standing and Honors Committee 1984-85 Annual Report Prepared by Manuel H. Pierson

The Academic Standing and Honors Committee (ASHC) completed it year with a review of the 1985 Spring Term dismissals in July. At that time, the ASHC made 98 decisions relative to forgiveness, dismissals, and the Dismissal Option Program (DOP). The ASHC began the 1984-85 academic year by making 122 decisions in September 1984 regarding dismissals. At the 1984 Fall Term dismissal review in January 1985, the ASHC made 573 decisions. About 300 of these actions were rescinding computer dismissals made in error due to the change in the "N" grade policy. The Winter Term review session was in May 1985 and 272 decisions were made. In addition, the ASHC approved the graduation lists for the Spring and Fall commencements and carried out its charge relative to readmissions and withdrawals.

The ASHC reviewed the Dismissal Option Program (DOP) to determine its effectiveness. In the review of the DOP for the 1984-85 academic year, the ASHC found that 68% of the decisions to retain students for an additional semester after dismissal resulted in the students being retained after maintaining at least a 2.0 API for the semester. Additionally, 15% of the decisions resulted in removal from the DOP due to a repeat of classes, and changes in study habits and attitudes. The ASHC separated 12% after one semester due to a continuation of prior performance activity, and 5% became inactive - that is they voluntarily withdrew from the university.

As a result of the University Senate's elimination of the "N" grade and changing the "I" (incomplete) grade rule, the ASHC revised the policy brochure, "A Guide To The Academic Probation and Dismissal Policy."

These are available in the Office of Student Services.

Members of the Academic Standing and Honors Committee for 1984-85 were:

Willard St. John, Chairman, Chemistry Department; Augustine Fosu, Economics and Management; Cleveland Hurst III, Administrative Professional; Hoda Abdel-Aty Zohdy, Engineering; Mary Sherman, Health; Manuel H. Pierson, Committee Administrator; Jane McKay, Colleen Ochoa, and Amy Schwark, students.