Honorary Degree Committee Annual Report, 2003-2004

Ron Sudol, Chair

The Honorary Degree Committee recommends to the Provost and President candidates for Oakland University honorary degrees. During the past academic year, two honorary degrees were awarded: Gordon England (Doctor of Science, *honoris causa*) at the School of Engineering commencement in December and Senator Carl Levin (Doctor of Laws, *honoris causa*) at the School of Engineering Commencement in May.

As in the past, these honorary degrees originated as nominations from the university academic community.

In fall 2003 and again in winter and spring 2004 the committee received nominations from the academic community. From the nominations received, the committee has forwarded three recommendations. Doris Eaton Travis, a dancer, businesswoman, rancher, and author will receive an honorary Doctor of Arts degree at the College of Arts and Sciences December commencement. She will be 101 years old at that time.

The other two recommendations for honorary degrees have not yet gone to the Board of Trustees for approval and therefore cannot be disclosed in this report at this time.

The members of the committee this year were Eddie Cheng, Addington Coppin, James Hansen, Anahid Kulwicki, Anna Spagnuolo, and Vincent Khapoya.

May 18, 2004