New Page 1 Page 1 of 5





OAKLAND UNIVERSITY SENATE

Seventh Meeting Thursday, 11 April 1991 3:10 p.m. Gold Room C, Oakland Center

AGENDA

Respectfully submitted by Keith R. Kleckner for the Steering Committee.

A. Old Business

1. Motion from the Admissions and Financial Aid Committee to adopt policy modifications for certain transfer admissions (Mr. Hovanesian; Mr. Stern). Item B.I. from the agenda of 14 March 1991.

MOVED that the Senate recommend to the President and the Board that Section IV of the Undergraduate Admissions Policy adopted in 1985 be modified to implement permanently the modifications introduced for a trial period at the April 20, 1989 meeting of the University Senate.

Second Reading: Debatable, amendable, and eligible for final vote at this meeting.

- **B.** New Business
- 1. Motion from the Senate Committee on Human Relations (Ms. Garcia):

MOVED that each School or Department shall develop a program to increase understanding of racial and cultural diversity issues and to examine especially those racial and cultural diversity issues important to that particular discipline.

Reports of accomplishments and programming, including ways in which you plan to implement programming in 1991-92, should be submitted by September 30, 1991, to the Senate Committee on Human Relations.

First Reading: Debatable, amendable, but not eligible for final vote at this meeting.

Comment: The committee seeks information about what academic units have already accomplished to foster multicultural diversity and what they are planning to accomplish during the 1991-92 academic year. Helpful practices and ideas will be made available to the university community. There is no intention for the committee to determine course content or teaching

New Page 1 Page 2 of 5

methods.

2. Motion from the Senate Committee on Human Relations (Ms. Garcia):

MOVED that the Senate shall recommend to the President of Oakland University that the Board of Trustees dedicate the sum of one million dollars to endow scholarships to enhance the diversity of the university's student population.

First Reading: Debatable, amendable, but not eligible final vote at this meeting.

Comment: In presenting this motion, the committee envisions the endowment corpus to be comprised of funds donated to or otherwise raised by the university. The motion does not carry with it an expectation that the general fund be tapped for this purpose. Scholarship support of the type proposed would advance the university goal of achieving a more richly culturally diverse student body.

3. Motion from the Steering Committee to staff standing committees of the Senate (Ms. Tripp).

MOVED that the faculty nominated below be confirmed as appointed to committees with terms as specified.

a. Academic and Career Advising Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Barbara Mabee Diane Wilson

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year Frank Cioch (chair) Amir Hormozi (on leave during 1990-91 academic year) Jon Yates

b . Academic Computing Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 James Dow Michael Hartzer Renate Rohde

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year Rita Gallagher (chair) Charles Cheng Kenneth York

c. Academic Conduct Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Lawrence Lilliston (chair) Mohammad Bazaz New Page 1 Page 3 of 5

Michael Latcha Billy Minor (alternate)

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year

Fay Hansen-Smith Anahid Kulwicki Frank Lepkowski Ren-Jyh Gu, alternate Carol Zenas, alternate

d. Academic Policy and Planning Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Howard Schwartz Melinda Beaudry J. Curtis Chipman

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year Beverley Geltner (Chair) Joel Russell David Sidaway Sarma Vishnubhotla

e. Academic Standing and Honors Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Julia Dorminey Robert Gaylor

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year Hoda Abdel-Aty-Zohdy (chair) Addington Coppin Mary Mittelstaedt

f. Admission and Financial Aid Committee

NOMINEE to new two-year term (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Janice Fries

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year Gadis Dillon (chair) Robert Stern

g. Campus Development and Environment Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Geoff Brieger Laurie Eisenhower New Page 1 Page 4 of 5

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year

George Gamboa

Bruce Mann

Barbara Theisen

h. General Education Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991

Harvey Burdick

Kevin Grimm

Sharon Muir

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year

Charles Marks (chair)

Renate Gerulaitis

Clementine Rice

i. Research Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991

Ka C. Cheok

Harriet Margolis

Dean Purcell

John Reddan

NOMINEE to one-year term (1991-92)

Satish Walia

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year

Linda Benson

Austin Murphy

Meir Shillor

Brian Goslin (Graduate Council Appointee) (chair)

j. Teaching and Learning Committee

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991

David Lau

Steven Miller

Sandra Pelfrey

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year

Robert Edgerton

Patricia Montenegro (chair)

Darlene Schott-Baer

k. University Committee on Undergraduate Instruction

Sheldon Appleton (Chair)

New Page 1 Page 5 of 5

NOMINEES to new two-year terms (1991-93) effective fall 1991 Gloria Blatt: School of Human and Educational Services

Anandi Sahu: School of Business Administration

Patricia Ketcham: School of Nursing

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-92) serving final year

You-Lang Gu: School of Engineering and Computer Science

Osa Jackson: School of Health Sciences

Mildred Merz: Library

Frank Schieber: College of Arts and Sciences

l. Committee on Human Relations

NOMINEES to new three-year terms (1991-94) effective fall 1991 Ronald Kevern Sherman Folland Ann Pogany

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1990-93) serving second year

Frances Jackson Richard Pipan Mohamed Zohdy

CONTINUING MEMBERS (1989-92) serving final year

Wilma Garcia (chair) Monifa Jumanne John Tower

Procedural Motion: Debatable, amendable, and eligible for final vote at this meeting.

- C. <u>Good and Welfare</u> Private Resolutions
- D. Information Items
- 1. Report from the *Ad Hoc* Subcommittee on Conference Center Planning (Mr. Pettengill)

