College of Arts and Sciences MINUTES

Meeting of September 20, 2016, 3:30 P.M. Oakland Room, Oakland Center

Members present: Andrews, Barry, Battles, Bekele, Berven, D., Berven, K., Cheng, E., Dulio, Freed, Gooren, Guest, Herold, Lorca, Meyers, Miller, Reger, Rigstad, Roth, Spagnuolo, Tardella, Tonsing, Tucker, Wang, Welling, Yang

Members absent: Eis, Navin, Orces, Westrick

Ex Officio present: Corcoran, Stewart

1. Call to Order

Dean Corcoran called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Associate Dean Stewart reminded Assembly members that the Meeting of Minds (MOM) conference would take place on the campus of Oakland University at the end of this academic year. He said this is the 25th year of the conference, and they are looking for it to be well attended. He noted that the advertising will be done earlier than usual, and this should make it possible for students in both the fall and winter semesters to be involved. Mr. Berven asked if Honors College students participate in this event, and he suggested that since they have papers ready, it would be good if they were to present their projects at MOM. Ms. Tardella said that the design students have deadlines for their power point presentations in the first week of March. Ms. Reger said she takes capstone course students, and it is always a good experience for them in spite of the nerves they suffer from prior to going. Dean Corcoran asked faculty with students doing creative projects to try to find a way to convert them such that they can be presented at MOM. He also observed that the CAS is building bridges to the local community colleges, and their students will be invited to attend the conference. Ms. Tardella asked if a student who has graduated can participate, and Mr. Stewart replied that if a student has graduated in December, they can participate in MOM the following May. He reiterated that they want this conference to be bigger than ever this year, and so he encourages CAS faculty to advertise and bring students.

2. Appointment of CAS Assembly Secretary and Parlementarian

Dean Corcoran appointed Dikka Berven as Secretary of the Assembly and Kevin Andrews as Parliamentarian.

3. Approval of the Minutes of March 15, 2016

The minutes of the Assembly meeting of March 15, 2016, were approved.

4. Approval of Recommended Member and Chair for the Elections Committee

The following new member of the Elections Committee was approved: (motion by Daniel, Reger)

Angela Kaiser, Social Work, 2016-2019

Continuing members include:
Kuniko Nielsen, Linguistics, 2015-2018
Lisa Welling, Psychology, 2015-2017 (two year replacement for You Li)

The Chair of the Elections Committee was approved: Lisa Welling, Psychology

5. Nominations and elections to the Executive Committee (two vacancies)

Lisa Welling (Chair, Elections Committee) conducted the process of nominating and electing two members to the CAS Executive Committee.

The following members were elected to the Executive Committee:

Kathy Battles, Language/Literature, 2016-2018 Karen Miller, Humanities, 2016-2018

Continuing members include:

Mark Rigstad, Philosophy (At Large), 2015-2017 Eddie Cheng, Mathematics (Mathematics/Science), 2015-2017 Jo Reger, Sociology (Social Sciences), 2015-2017

6. Approval of recommended members for the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC)

The following new members were approved for the GSC: (motion by Welling, Berven, K.)
Lan Jiang, Biological Sciences (At Large), 2016-2018
Weldon (Don) Matthews, History (Humanities), 2016-2018
Melissa McDonald, Psychology (At Large), 2016-2018

Continuing members are:

- L. Bailey McDaniel English (Language/Literature), 2015-2017
- J. Patrick Piskulich, Political Science (Social Sciences), 2015-2017 Xianggui (Harvey) Qu, Mathematics (Mathematics/Science), 2015-2017
- J. Patrick Piskulich was approved as Chair for the GSC.

7. Approval of recommended members for the committee on Instruction (COI)

The following new members for the COI were approved: (motion Battles, Welling)
Amy Banes-Berceli, Biological Sciences (Math/Science), 2016-2018
Melissa Hoag, Music, Theatre and Dance (Humanities), 2016-2018
Robert Sidelinger, Communication and Journalism (At Large), 2016-2018

Continuing members include:

Graham Cassano, Sociology (Social Sciences), 2015-2017 Paul Graves, Philosophy (At Large), 2015-2017 Andrea Knutson, English (Language/Literature), 2015-2017

Paul Graves was approved as Chair for the Committee on Instruction.

8. Information Item: Members of the CAS Committee on Promotion for 2016-2017

The members of the CAS Committee on Promotion for 2016-2017 are:

Jennifer Law Sullivan, Modern Languages and Literatures (Language/Literature), 2016-2019 Dorothy Nelson, Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work and Criminal Justice (Social Sciences), 2016-2019

Sean Moran, History (Humanities), 2015-2018
Bradley Roth, Physics (Mathematics/Science), 2015-2018
Maria Bryant, Chemistry (Mathematics/Science), 2014-2017
Deborah VanderLinde, Music, Theatre and Dance (At Large), 2014-2017

9. Good and Welfare

- Dean Corcoran reminded Assembly members that Homecoming will be taking place the upcoming weekend on campus, for which MTD would be putting on a free event at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday in the Varner courtyard, followed by a reception. He encouraged faculty members not to forget about this entertaining event when making weekend plans.
- He said the CAS theme this year is "Unity in Diversity," and stated that there will be an identity mark to be revealed soon. Events connected to the theme will be identified with this mark.
- He asked Assembly members to start thinking about potential Meritorious Student nominees for the December graduation ceremony.
- Mr. Guest told Assembly members about the upcoming Sunday 24-hour film festival to take place at 4:00 p.m. in NFH 156.

10. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Dikka Berven, Secretary