

Annual Report 2016 - 2017

OU Senate Teaching and Learning Committee

Submitted by:

Greg Giberson, Co-Chair Nic Bongers, Co-Chair Date: May 15, 2017

2016-17 Teaching and Learning Committee Members:

Nic Bongers, Co-Chairperson (AP Assembly, 2016-2018) Greg Giberson, Co-Chairperson (CAS, 2016-2018) Ali Woerner (CAS, 2014-2017) Joanne Freed (CAS, 2014-2017) Kasaundra Tomlin (SBA, 2015-2018) John Cebelak (AP Assembly, 2015-2018) Sally Tardella (CAS, 2015-2018) Fabia Ursula Battistuzzi (CAS, 2016-2019) Melissa McDonald (CAS, 2016-2019) Victoria Lucia (SOM, 2016-2019) Luna Nasry (Student, 2016-2017) Judith Ableser (ex-officio, non-voting)



Introduction:

There are four primary activities of the Teaching and Learning Committee: 1) to make recommendations of one full-time faculty member and one part-time faculty member for the Teaching Excellence/Excellence in Teaching Awards; 2) to recommend allocations of the educational development grant funds; 3) to publish the committee newsletter, "Insights and Ideas for Teaching and Learning"; and 4) to sponsor faculty luncheons/workshops to promote outstanding teaching and learning practices.

Historically, this committee was formed years before the Center for Excellence in Teaching & Learning (CETL) department was established on campus. Now that CETL is established on campus, this committee has not revisited its charge. There are some primary activity overlap between this committee and the CETL department. The overlaps bring into question the current charge of this committee, and the members are engaged in an ongoing discussion of the role the committee could and should play in shared governance within OU in regards to issues related to teaching and learning.

On April 18, 2017 the co-chairs of the committee met with the OU Senate Steering committee to get feedback on a draft of a revised committee charge that eliminated those aspects of the current charge that the committee believed were now covered by CETL and to more clearly represent the work the committee has focused on since the founding of CETL.

After a thorough discussion with the Steering Committee of the draft revision and the potential the T&L committee has as an advisory body to the Senate and OU in general in regards to issues related to teaching and learning, the co-chairs agreed to essentially reenvision the form and function of the committee and draft a new charge. The chairs plan to have a draft charge for the Steering Committee to consider in the fall of 2017 with the goal of having a new charge in place for the 2018-19 academic year.

Below is a summary of the work of the committee during the 2016-17 academic year.

The 2016-2017 Committee Meetings

The committee met six times during the 2016-2017 academic year:

- October 10, 2016
- November 17, 2016
- December 6, 2016
- January 30, 2107
- February 14, 2017
- March 15, 2017



Teaching Excellence Awards: The call for nominations were publicized by sending emails to faculty and staff, on our OU website, through a banner in the OC, through flyers placed around the library and CETL. The nominations and document submission were completed online. The list of nominees below consists of those nominees who were eligible based on the criteria and who submitted the necessary materials to be considered for the award. Please refer to Appendix I for the call for nominations example.

2016-2017 Eligible Teaching Excellence Award Nominees: Tenured/Tenure Track

Nominee	Department
Courtney Donoghue	ENG
Annette Gilson	ENG
Akiko Kashiwagi-Wood	MLL
John Krauss	SHS
Suzanne Spencer-Wood	SASWCJ
Stephanie Vallie	SON
Julie Walters	PS
Lisa Welling	PSY
Keith Williams	PSY

2016-2017 Eligible Teaching Excellence Nominees: Non-Tenure Track

Nominee	Department
Laura Gabrion	WRT
Sarah Hosch	BIO
Catherine Jostock	WRT
Michelle Plattenberger	MLL
Yael Sela	PSY
Melissa St. Pierre	WRT

2017 Teaching Excellence Award Tenured/Tenure Track Winner:

• John Krauss, SHS

2017 Teaching Excellence Award Non-Tenure Track Winner:

• Michelle Plattenberger, MLL



Educational Development Grants: Grants are issued on a rolling basis, with no set deadline, as per changes made last year. The 2017 Call for Proposals can be found at http://www.oakland.edu/TLCcommittee. Five proposals were received and approved:

- Terressa Benz \$300
- Cynthia Carver \$750
- Catherine Jostock \$750
- Lauren Rinke \$750
- Ali Woerner \$496.20

Newsletters and Website:

The newsletter was put on hiatus this year, as the committee continued its discussion regarding its future direction. The website was updated throughout the year by Nic Bongers, co-chair.

Teaching Excellence Nominees Luncheon: On March 10, 2017 the T&L Committee sponsored a luncheon to honor all of the teaching excellence nominees. With administrative support from CETL, Nic Bongers and a subcommittee of T&L committee members including John Cebelak, Victoria Lucia, and Kasaundra Tomlin, organized the luncheon. Approximately 30 nominees, committee members, and administrators attended the luncheon. Each nominee was given a signed and framed certificate for their nomination.

Workshops: The Committee cosponsored the OU-Windsor Teaching and Learning conference held at Windsor on May 3-4, 2017.

Espace Updates: The committee's E-Space was thoroughly reorganized and updated by Nic Bongers, co-chair.

Budget: Greg Giberson and Nic Bongers requested remaining funding be carried forward for next year and contacted Irene Fox at ext. 2571 and emailed her at fox@oakland.edu.



Appendix

2016-17 TEACHING EXCELLENCE AWARD – CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

The Senate Teaching and Learning Committee is pleased to announce a call for nominations for the 2017 Teaching Excellence Awards. Two awards will be made for the 2016-2017 academic year: one to a tenure-track or tenured faculty member; another to a non-tenure-track faculty member. Each award includes a cash stipend and will be presented at the Annual Faculty Recognition Luncheon, tentatively scheduled for March 28, 2017.

Nominations may be made by any member of the Oakland University community, including students, faculty, alumni, administrators, and staff. Student nominations are a highly valued component of this process. Faculty may not self-nominate for the Award. Faculty members are encouraged to announce this nomination process in all classes.

To nominate a faculty member, please visit <u>http://tinyurl.com/teachOU</u>

The nomination should address the nominee's accomplishments based on the following criteria:

• Excellence in teaching methodology

- Innovation in teaching
- · Continued growth and development in teaching

• Distinction in the ability to stimulate critical thinking and facilitate student understanding

- Inspiring role model to students
- Exemplary service to students and the teaching profession

Nominations will be accepted through **December 7, 2016**. The Teaching & Learning Committee will contact the nominee about how to submit the required materials. Please contact Nic Bongers for questions regarding the award and John Coughlin if you need technical support with your submission (jcoughli@oakland.edu).

Previous winners and current members of the Teaching & Learning Committee are not eligible for nomination. A plaque showing previous Teaching Excellence Award winners is on display in the lobby of the Kresge Library.

Sincerely,

Nic Bongers & Greg Giberson (Co-Chairs of the Senate Teaching and Learning Committee)