# COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES Meeting of the Assembly September 25, 2018 MINUTES

**Members present:** Barry, M., Berven, D., Berven, K., Campoy-Cubillo, Cholis, Corso, Eis, Eldredge, Epstein, Garfinkle, Graves, Hansen, Kidger, Li, Ma, McDonald, McGinnis, Reger, Rooney, Smith, Spagnuolo, Tonsing, Trivedi, VanKooten, Wieden

Members absent: Battles, Jamison, Smith Bohannon

**Ex-Officio present:** Banes-Berceli, Corcoran, Stewart

Dean Corcoran called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. He then informed the Assembly that the date of the All-College Assembly would be in November this year instead of October as usual, because President Ora Pescovitz will be able to come to the Assembly meeting in November.

# 1. Appointment of Parliamentarian and Secretary

Mr. Corcoran appointed John Corso as Parliamentarian and Dikka Berven as Secretary.

#### 2. Approval of the Minutes of January 30, 2018

The minutes of the January 30, 2018, meeting were approved unanimously.

# 3. Approval of recommended member of Elections Committee

The motion was made (Berven, K., Eis) to approve Sally Tardella as the recommended member of the Elections Committee. The motion was approved unanimously.

Continuing members are:

Sam Srauy, Communication and Journalism, 2017-2020

Angela Kaiser, Social Work, 2016-2019

Angela Kaiser was subsequently approved as Chair for the Elections Committee.

# 4. Nominations and Elections to the Executive Committee (two vacancies)

Mr. Corcoran reminded the Assembly that the two vacancies on the Executive Committee should come from Language/Literature and Humanities. Assistant Dean Sandy Dykstra distributed the ballots and conducted the elections for the Executive Committee. The election results were as follows: Andrea Eis (Cinema Studies, Language/Literature) and Paul Graves (Philosophy, Humanities) are the new Executive Committee members.

*Continuing members are:* 

Keith Berven, Biological Sciences (At Large), 2017-2019

Anna Spagnuolo, Mathematics and Statistics (Mathematics/Sciences), 2017-2019

Melissa McDonald, Psychology (Social Sciences), 2018-2019

#### 5. Approval of Recommended Members for the Graduate Studies Committee (GSC)

The motion was made to approve the three recommended members for the GSC (Graves, Berven, K.):

Martha Escobar, Psychology (At Large), 2018-2020

James Naus, History (Humanities), 2018-2020

Alison Powell, English (At Large), 2018-2020

The motion was approved unanimously.

Continuing members are:

Wendi Johnson, Social Work (Social Sciences), 2017-2019

Adina Schneeweis, Communication and Journalism (Language/Literature), 2017-2019

Evan Trivedi, Chemistry (Mathematics/Science), 2017-2019

Adina Schneeweis was approved as Chair for the Graduate Studies Committee

## 6. Approval of Recommended Members for the Committee on Instruction

The motion was made to approve the three recommended members for the COI (Li, Berven, K.):

Douglas Wendell, Biological Sciences (Math/Science), 2018-2020

Elizabeth Shesko, History (Humanities), 2018-2020

Cody VanderKaay, Art and Art History (At Large), 2018-2020

Continuing members are:

Graham Cassano, Sociology (Social Sciences), 2017-2019

Kapila Castoldi, Physics (At Large), 2017-2019

Lori Ostergaard, Writing and Rhetoric (Language and Literature), 2017-2019

Lori Ostergaard was approved as Chair of the COI.

#### 7. Information Item: Members of the CAS Committee on Promotion

Mr. Corcoran informed the Assembly that the following people are the members for the CAP:

Daniel Clark, History (Humanities), 2018-2021

David Garfinkle, Physics (Mathematics/Science), 2018-2021

Jennifer Law Sullivan, Modern Languages and Literatures (Language/Literature), 2016-2019\*

Dorothy Nelson, Sociology, Anthropology, Social Work and Criminal Justice (Social Sciences), 2016-2019

Fay Hansen, Biology (Mathematics/Science), 2017-2020

Kellie Hay, Communication and Journalism (At Large), 2017-2020

\*Due to sabbatical leave, Kathleen Pfeiffer, English, will replace Jennifer Law Sullivan for the Fall 2018 semester

## 8. Good and Welfare

Mr. Corcoran reminded Assembly members of the upcoming Artist Talk with Andrea Eis. He added that on Sunday, October 7, Cinema Studies will host the 24-hour film challenge in 156 NFH. This will be the last event of Homecoming and he encouraged everyone to attend.

# 9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 4 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Dikka Berven (Secretary)