## Oakland University - Senate Library Committee (SLC) 2017 - 2108 Report

The Senate Library Committee met in person and online during the 2017-2018 academic year. The initial in-person meeting included an update presentation from the Dean Stephen Weiter on library collections, online resources, and faculty and student services and training sessions. Additional in-person meetings included presentations from Helen Levinson on library budgets and library collection development, from Julia Rodriguez on classroom support and online access to journal articles, and from Joanna Thielen on library the development of research databases for faculty investigations.

The primary committee activity this year was planning and hosting the 13<sup>th</sup> annual *Authors at Oakland: A Celebration of the Book* event held on March 14, 2018. The SNL invited faculty authors with books published during 2016-2017 to submit their publications for recognition and display at the event. Authors were also invited to donate a copy of their work to the Oakland University (OU) Libraries. This year, 131 OU faculty submitted books for recognition at this event. The books represented the many talented authors from a cross section of schools, departments, and disciplines at OU. Twenty-three authors offered to present their work at this event. The committee reviewed these book submissions and chose the two following authors to present their work.

**Professor Caryn M. Wells**, Associate Professor from the School of Education and Human Services in the Department of Organizational Leadership presented her 2016 book titled: *Mindfulness: How school leaders can reduce stress and thrive on the job.* 

**Professor Dominique Daniels** from the University Libraries presented her 2017 book titled: *Oakland University.* 

This event was well attended by members of the OU community, faculty, staff and students.

The SLC acknowledges and thanks **Professor Helen Levinson** for organizing and chairing the online subcommittee that reviewed books for compliance with the submission criteria and **Professor Emily Spunaugle** for organizing and chairing the online subcommittee that reviewed and selected presenters. We also acknowledge and appreciate the work of **Kath Borg**, Executive Secretary, for her diligence and precision in organizing all of the tasks associated with the success of this event and **Nancy Bulgarelli, MSLS Director of the OUWB Medical Library** for her expertise and contributions to the success of the SLC activities during this academic year.

The SLC congratulates the two student authors who received the **Frank Lepkowski Undergraduate Research in Writing Awards funded by the OU Credit Union.** The first place recipient of \$1500.00 was **Alex Currington** for his paper: "Peer Mentoring and First-Generation Student College Adaptation among Ethnic Minority College Students" which was written in PSY 4998 for Professor Mary Lewis in Fall 2017. The second place recipient of

\$1000.00 was **Gabrielle Schwartz** for her paper "Silencing of Puerto Rican Women: The Viewpoint of Puerto Rican Medical Professionals on the 1956 Birth Control Pill Trials" written in HST 3000 for Professor Elizabeth Shesko in Winter 2018.

A list of the 2017-2018 Senate Library Committee Members and their dates of service appear on page 2 of this report. Members that are ending their 2 year term are highlighted in yellow.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Jacqueline S. Drouin, PT PhD

Jacqueline S. Drouin, PT, Ph.D. Chair, Senate Library Committee Associate Professor School of Health Sciences

cc. Stephen P. Weiter Dean, University Libraries

## **Senate Library Committee 2017-2018**

Matthews, Don (CAS-HUM) 2017-2019 McLarnon, Matthew (CAS-SS) 2017-2019

Greer, Katie (KL) 2017-2019

Zacharias, Anne (KL) 2017-2019

Yun, Wunjoo (SBA) 2017-2019

Ragheb, Samia (SOM) 2017-2019

Drouin, Jackie (SHS) 2016-2018, CHAIR (drouin@oakland.edu)

Spunaugle, Emily (KL) 2016-2018

Levenson, Helen (KL) 2016-2018

Donoghue, Courtney (CAS-LL) 2016-2018

Wang, Xia (SECS) 2016-2018

Song, Mi Hye (CAS-MS) 2016-2018

Dunn, Karen (SON) 2016-2018

Quinn, James (SEHS) 2016-2018

Kleinschmidt, Brittany (Student Congress) 2017-2018

Roberts, Nathan (Student Congress) 2017-2018

Twal, Christeena (Student Congress) 2017-2018

Weiter, Stephen (Dean University Libraries) 2017-2018 Ex-officio and non-voting Bulgarelli, Nancy (SVPAA Designee) 2017-2018 Ex-officio and non-voting